Second Offense Boston DUI Defense Attorney
If you are what is termed a "repeat offender" and are charged with a second or more DUI charge in Boston, this is a serious legal situation. Even if your earlier DUI or OUI conviction was 10, 20 or more years in the past, you will still be considered a repeat offender under Massachusetts law.
The penalties for a second or third DUI conviction and beyond are harsh. Do not consider going to court without a Boston DUI defense attorney at your side fighting for your defense. Contact the Massachusetts Criminal Defense Group for an aggressive defense strategy to fight the charges.
Call the Massachusetts Criminal Defense Group today at 800-82-DEFENSE (800-823-3336). Learn about our statewide OUI-DUI defense strategy. Free initial consultation.
Every case is fact-specific, and this is a decision that only you should make. As a general rule, our attorneys recommend that you fight the case whenever you can.
So many things can go wrong with the prosecution's case — improperly administered Breathalyzer and field sobriety tests and poorly written police reports, for example — that fighting the charges often makes sense.
Especially for repeat offenders, fighting your case is almost always the way to go, because you don't have much to lose. Penalties for being found guilty at trial of a second or third offense are rarely worse than the plea deal you'll get from the district attorney.
Another reason to take your DUI to trial is that we win more than half the cases we fight. When we win, it means no record, no career restrictions, no travel restrictions, no fines, no alcohol education classes, no probation, etc.
Information About Repeat DUI Penalties
If a second DUI charge is related to an accident and you are convicted, it will result in a 10-year suspension of your driver's license if you refused to take the Breathalyzer test. If a fatality occurs and you refused the test, your license will be revoked for life. There is a 12-hour impoundment of your vehicle if you fail the Breathalyzer test. If you have a third or more DUI conviction, your license plates can be canceled for the duration of the suspension of your license. A fourth DUI conviction is a felony offense, and the prosecutor can seek to have you forfeit your vehicle. There are also extended periods of time in jail and steep fines. You will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
Second DUI Arrest In Boston? Call An Attorney For A Free Case Evaluation.
When it comes to litigating repeat offender cases, our attorneys vigorously and tirelessly fight for clients, both in District Court and at the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV). Call 800-82-DEFENSE (800-823-3336) for a free case evaluation or contact us online.