Melanie's Law In Massachusetts
Melanie's Law was enacted in 2005 and made the DUI laws in Massachusetts even more severe. There were several significant changes that affect everyone arrested and charged with DUI. It is even more critical to get legal representation for any DUI charge, as the penalties are now some of the most severe in the nation.
It is absolutely crucial that you have a Boston OUI defense attorney aggressively fighting for your defense in any DUI case in Massachusetts. At the Massachusetts Criminal Defense Group, our attorneys know how Melanie's Law has affected drivers in Massachusetts and are here to help those who face severe penalties as a result of the changes.
Call the Massachusetts Criminal Defense Group today at 800-82-DEFENSE (800-823-3336). Learn about our 18-point DUI-OUI defense strategy. Free initial consultation.
How Melanie's Law Has Changed Things
Changes from the law include the following:
For a first offense: Drivers 21 and older, a fine of $500 to $5,000, a jail sentence of up to 2½ years and a driver's license suspension of up to six months. It will be longer if you refused the breath test.
There are serious fines, court fees (more than $2,000) and hidden costs, and your vehicle will be impounded for 12 hours after your arrest. You will also be required to take a court-ordered alcohol education program that lasts for 16 weeks, one day a week.
For a second offense: Drivers 21 and older, fines up to $10,000 (though they could be less than $5,000) and a jail sentence from two months to 2½ years, 30 days of which is mandatory. Your license will be suspended for two years and you must install an ignition interlock device when your license is reinstated.
For drivers under 21: There are serious penalties under Melanie's Law. You will lose your license for 390 days, but can have this reduced if you enroll in a teenage drinking treatment program that is approved by the state.